Member Awards & Recognition

Each year, WPS presents the following awards to members of the Association and the industry in recognition of their outstanding contributions, (unless otherwise indicated) industry leaders are recognized at the annual Awards Dinner. Click on the award title link to learn more about each award and view the archive.

The 2022 WPS Awards Dinner was a great success! This signature event is an opportunity to recognize fellow members who have made a significant contributions to WPS and the profession, but also leaders both inside and outside psychiatry who support the work we do. Below is a recap of the award recipients:

Wellstone  Award:  Laurie Flynn

Community Service:


Psychiatrist of the Year:  Matthew Rudorfer, M.D., DLFAPA

Lifetime Achievement:  Richard Goldberg, M.D.

Early Career Psychiatrist of the Year:  Laura Willing, M.D.

Resident of the Year:  Christian Moser, M.D.

Advocate of the Year or Special Recognition:  Lise Van Susteren, M.D., DFAPA

Public Service:

Malena Banks, M.D.
Otema Adade, M.D

Journalist of the Year:  Petula Dvorak, Columnist, Washington Post

Special Recognition: 

President – Steven Israel, M.D., LFAPA

Immediate Past President – Farooq Mohyuddin, M.D., FAPA

Finance Committee Chair - Walter Bland, M.D., LFAPA

Governance Committee Chair -Marilou Tablang Jimenez, M.D., DFAPA

Membership Committee Chair - Ramia Gupta, M.D., DFAPA

CME Committee Chair -Matthew Rudorfer, M.D., DLFAPA

Advocacy Committee Chair - Janice Hutchinson, M.D., DLFAPA
Ethics Committee Chair – Todd Cox, M.D., DFAPA

CLM Committee Chair – Eliot Sorel, M.D.,DLFAPA

Nominations Committee Chair – Joseph Collins, D.O. FAPA

Capital Psychiatry Editor- Gerald Perman, M.D., DLFAPA

Newsletter Editor – Corina Freitas, M.D., MBA, MSc

Suburban Maryland Chapter President - Louis Kopolow, M.D.,DLFAPA

Outgoing Assembly Delegate –  Cristina Secarea, M.D., FAPA


Other Awards that may be given at the discretion of the committee and with board approval include, to name a few:
  • Advocate of the Year - presented to a person or persons, usually not a WPS member or physician, for contributions in one or more areas including but not limited to legislative initiative, patient education, rights of persons with mental illnesses and advocacy with national, state or local governments, and/or policy making.
  • Official [Policy-Maker] of the Year - presented to an elected official, government policy maker or other government official for actions through his/her office on behalf of improved mental health care, access to care, or enhanced the ability of psychiatrists and/or other physicians to practice medicine.
  • Journalist of the Year - presented to a print or broadcast journalist whose contributions to the public's awareness of mental illnesses and their treatments or to the promotion of the profession of psychiatry are deemed exemplary.
  • Community Service Award
  • Research Paper (Residents Only)